new member-just begining to twitch

This forum is for posting your personal experiences with BFS: symptoms, doctor visits, fears, etc.

Please use this forum to post give and recieve encoragement and reassurance from sharing the trials and triumphs you have faced.

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

new member-just begining to twitch

Postby fastpage on March 10th, 2003, 3:46 pm

I just found this board today and wanted to say hello and join the discussion. I am new to this problem. I would imagine everyone has heard the littany of symtoms etc a thousand times, so I will try to keep it short. For many months (I don't really know how long, the onset was so subtle) I have been getting random twitches all over my body. Only a few a day, maybe in a hamstring, bicep, tricep, forearm etc. Never thought anything of it, just figured it was normal for my age (53). I vaguely noticed some odd sensations in my calves and shins which finally got to the point I started looking about 2 weeks ago and found that they had nearly constant fasiculations which were barely felt but quite visible. Now I have constant twitching in the calves shins, with randon twitches in other places mentioned. Of course the twitching has worsened since I noticed it and began to worry about it. My GP says not to worry. If I have no weakness, slurring of speach, swallowing problems etc., just twitching, it is almost certainly benign, especially since the twitches occur in calves and shins when my legs are completely relaxed. I have not consulted a nuerologist yet although he thinks I should, just to ease my mind. Haven't decided if that is a good idea or whether I would rather just not know any more for sure at the moment. I am on COBRA now and if twitching gets into my medical records, I am never going to get my insurance replaced. Anyway I will be watching and monitoring this board. Thanks to all of you. Just reading your posts today has helped me immensely. Amazing how much I have learned about fasiculati