getting back to 'normal'

This forum is for posting your personal experiences with BFS: symptoms, doctor visits, fears, etc.

Please use this forum to post give and recieve encoragement and reassurance from sharing the trials and triumphs you have faced.

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

getting back to 'normal'

Postby eleven on September 27th, 2004, 12:58 pm

Just wanted to post my own personal story with bfs. I am new to the group.
I have been twitching since late Dec 2003. I had a flu-like virus at Christmas that left me very worn down. I immediately began to notice something weird going on with my body. In the days to follow, I noticed paresthesia behind my ears. When I first went to the doctor, I presented with this abnormal feeling. After running some blood work, he decided that I was a very healthy 23 year old with an odd manifestation of stress. Given, I do have a semi-high-stress life, and I have always been a very anxious person. During the following days, the abnormal feeling continued behind my ears and actually spread and intensified. Then, one morning I woke up to twitches in my side, on my forehead, among other places. I went back to my GP. He was now more concerned, and decided to schedule me for an MRI and MRA of my head. These tests came back normal.
Of course, it was during this time that I searched the internet for my symptoms. And low and behold wonder what sort of search hits I got.
Not to mention that my husband is in medical school, and I had all of his lovely medical books beckoning.