Newbie or new to noticing ?

This forum is for posting your personal experiences with BFS: symptoms, doctor visits, fears, etc.

Please use this forum to post give and recieve encoragement and reassurance from sharing the trials and triumphs you have faced.

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

Newbie or new to noticing ?

Postby anxiousmd on December 28th, 2012, 7:50 pm

Hi there I am a 37 yr old doctor and mom to three kids ages 2,3 and 5. I have experienced first hand the sheer terror and anxiety of twitches and DR. Google. For as long as I can remember, I experienced eye twitches when tired and calf twitches after exercise-but I never paid much notice to this until recently. About 3 months ago, I was getting an eyelid twitch on and off for about 7 days (longer than usual) when my lower lip twitched (incidentally this only happened once). Quite innocently I GOOGLED twitching and Oh my God I freaked -ALS!MS! Then rather suddenly, I started to experience twitches intermittently all over-calf, thighs, triceps, latissimus Dorsi, buttocks. I have no weakness or pain or other neuro signs whatsoever. My energy is good. Contemporaneously I started exercising more than I have done since adolescent years-jogging and PIlates. I also am lifting my kiddies-who have gotten real heavy and come to think about it I often do not get a full night sleep because of mommy duties on top of working as a full time doctor. I find your website an excellent source of information, and reassuring. My twitches have decreased in frequency a lot and I was nearly over my worries when the other day my thumb twitched on and off for a few hours and stopped -so again I freaked! Incidentally during the thumb twitch day I had no twitches at all for a few days. I have suffered from health anxiety since I was a child. My husband (who does not have health anxiety) says he gets twitches also-arm, leg, eye, lip-he says it just doesn't bother him.In fact I did not know he got twitches until I started talking abo