The one post that helped me the most

This forum is for posting your personal experiences with BFS: symptoms, doctor visits, fears, etc.

Please use this forum to post give and recieve encoragement and reassurance from sharing the trials and triumphs you have faced.

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

The one post that helped me the most

Postby MarioMangler on June 26th, 2012, 2:08 pm

A lot of people over the years have asked me, "Mario you appear to have BFS beaten mentally. How did you do it?"

Well believe me, I was once like every single newbie here. I was as scared of my body as anyone. I panicked every time my bicep twitched, I panicked every time my leg started to buzz, and when every muscle in my back was tingling and twitching, I was basically done for. I wouldn't be able to sleep, I wouldn't be able to work, I wouldn't be able to eat. And believe me, when an Italian is unable to eat, you know it is serious!

Like many newbies, this is what I originally believed when it came to BFS. I believed that when you get BFS, you are basically playing a waiting game. I believed that most people with BFS will go on to just have BFS. And then some people (the unlucky ones) will go on to develop something worse. I believed that you have to wait a while to see which category you fell into. And, as you can imagine, for me and for everyone else who is new to BFS, this realization was terrifying.

(By the way, I don't know you, newbie. But I know you are reading this and you are nodding your head. I know this is EXACTLY what you are thinking right now. God, please don't let me turn out to be one of the unlucky ones.)