Medical Student with 3 years of symptoms - First Post

This forum is for posting your personal experiences with BFS: symptoms, doctor visits, fears, etc.

Please use this forum to post give and recieve encoragement and reassurance from sharing the trials and triumphs you have faced.

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

Medical Student with 3 years of symptoms - First Post

Postby iLeW123 on May 3rd, 2012, 4:08 pm

Hi everyone,

My name is Lewis and I'm 23 years old. I'm currently studying towards my final year medical exams, and will start as a doctor in August if I pass!

I thought i'd let everyone hear my story

3 years ago, I developed an awful viral infection alongside sinusitis. A few weeks later, I had some twitching in my right thigh, just in one specific spot, it went on for about a week and then disappeared. A few days after, I started to get a buzzing sensation in my right outer thigh. It felt exactly as though my mobile phone was vibrating in my pocket, and at first that's what I thought it was. However later that day, when my phone wasn't in my pocket, it started occurring again. Being a medical student, I went to the GP. He told me to stop carrying my phone in my pocket, as this was likely the cause. The following day, whilst in the anatomy lab, my entire leg began to tingle. As a result I went back to the GP, and I was referred into hospital. I had MRI's, Lumbar Punctures, and was clinically examined numerous times, with no abnormalities. Just a tingling sensation & occasional buzzing. I was discharged & reassured that this was not MS (I was convinced this was the case).