BFS-like Symptoms???

This forum is for posting your personal experiences with BFS: symptoms, doctor visits, fears, etc.

Please use this forum to post give and recieve encoragement and reassurance from sharing the trials and triumphs you have faced.

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

BFS-like Symptoms???

Postby Bruno on January 21st, 2004, 1:27 am

Hello to all,

I am a 31 years old engineer who spends most of its time behind a computer screen. I am not saying this in a negative way. I love my job. I am a tense and nervous person by nature. I eat my fingers away all the time. I have been astigmat since my early childhood, thanks to mom, and I wear heavy duty lenses. I used to be a heavy coffee drinker. Three months ago, I decided to reduce to 2 mugs per day of double brewed coffee. I plan to further decrease consumption. What else? Thanks to God I have not had any serious health problems so far. I should mention however that I have had consistent pain in my upper back when I wake up in the morning. This pain has become an old friend of mine as I have had it for more than a decade now. I saw several chiropractors without success. I just started physical therapy.

On September 18th, 2003 I experienced fascics in my legs and arms while hurricane Isabelle was paying a visit to our neighborhoods. Those fascics lasted for a few days and I grew worried. I decided to search for answers in the web. I discovered ALS and I freaked out. I could not sleep for four days straight and I ended up in the ER on the fourth night. My wife went crazy worried about me but she made it through all right in the end. At this point of time at the ER I had heavy fascics all over my body. I also had jerk movements in the legs, arms and shoulders. I was scared and exhausted.