My story - sound familiar?

This forum is for posting your personal experiences with BFS: symptoms, doctor visits, fears, etc.

Please use this forum to post give and recieve encoragement and reassurance from sharing the trials and triumphs you have faced.

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

My story - sound familiar?

Postby Jeff B on January 8th, 2004, 3:39 pm

Hello everyone,

I am new to this site - I came across it yesterday and was very glad that I did. I really found it helpful to read other people's experiences and stories - I found them to be very reassuring.

Like many, I have always had the occasional twitch or fasciculation that might last for a day or two and then go away. A little over 5 weeks ago I developed a twitch in my left index finger and lower lip. I figured they would resolve over the next day or two, but they didn't. Within a week I was noticing more twitching off and on in other areas - arms, legs, back, trunk, behind my ears, etc... I work in health care and immediately feared the worst. I called a colleague and had a (60 minute) neurological exam that same day, which was completely normal. A week later, I had an EMG, also normal aside from a couple of fasciculations in one thigh. Lots of blood work - also all normal. In spite of this, I continued to have a lot of anxiety, and the twitches became worse. My wife could not understand why I was still worried with the normal exam and tests...and it is hard to explain because RATIONALLY you know you shouldn't worry but humans aren't always rational.