Let a friend down

Use this area for any non-BFS related conversation

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

Let a friend down

Postby MaryY on December 19th, 2006, 1:59 pm

I've been so occupied with myself for the past few months I feel I let a good friend down.
As most of you know I am a nurse and one of my closest friends is also a nurse and actually helped deliver my son on her wedding anniversary....

During my first go round with BFS 4 years ago, she stood by my side and went to most appts with me..... helped me thru my worst fears numerous times... When this second go round started in September I just didn't have the heart to put her thru this with me again and I hadn't talked to her in a while.... I've pretty much toughed this one out myself and with the help of all of you....
Well anyway, my friend called yesterday out of the blue..... Things have been terrible for her... husband sick, problems with the kids, some one in the extended family murdered etc..... I felt horrible that I hadn't been there for her and she was furious with me for not letting her know I was having problems again.....
I felt bad all day and really hated myself for being so self centered for so long. I have made a promise to not let this BFS thing keep me from what's really important again..... Our friends, family etc need us... not part of us but all of us.... :(
Mary
MaryY
Hero
Hero

Postby massagefan16 on December 19th, 2006, 2:11 pm

Well, the hard thing is always to know who wants to listen and who thinks we're just nuts. I've stopped telling people (especially when I see their eyes glaze over)...so I totally understand why you didn't mention or call. I haven't told one of my close friends either. I barely even noticed Christmas coming this year because I was so preoccupied with the stupid twitching...

Shelley
massagefan16
Saint
Saint

Postby MaryY on December 19th, 2006, 2:37 pm

Yes,