Newbie twitcher...Please help

Post your questions about BFS here

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

Newbie twitcher...Please help

Postby Twitchy Georgy on September 23rd, 2002, 8:06 am

Hi all,

After a few weeks of browsing these boards, I decided to get myself registered and join the community of twitchers. I have been twitching for about 2 months now and the twitching was preceded by a period of tingling and and burning sensations in my extremities. Now that I've been twitching, I've seen two different doctors who both say that I don't have MS or ALS (they performed basic neurological tests) but I can't seem to get my mind at ease...

I know that the obvious solution would probably be to go and see a neuro but I'm also seeing a therapist for anxiety/hypochondria issues and he doesn't think I should see one (he thinks that a visit to a neuro would help reinforce my fears)...Anyways, I'm currently pursuing non-drug related means to reduce my stress and anxiety (yoga and exercise) and for the most part I seem to have my anxiety under control...But there is always the nagging voice that tells me not to get too at ease, because after all, I might have MS or ALS....

Sorry for rambling so long but I guess I'm just looking for reassurance....I twitch every 5-10 minutes (mostly concentrated in my calves and lap, but sometimes on my arms, back and neck)....Occassionaly I get a very slight tingling in my right foot and achilles and I have experienced that "buzzing" sensation from time to time....Oh, and one more thing....Lately I've been clenching my right fist to convince myself i'm not getting weakness on my right forearm (it feels uncomfortable when compared to my left)....
Twitchy Georgy
Interested
Interested

Postby Guest on September 23rd, 2002, 12:14 pm

You mention burning and tingling sensations. One would not experience this with ALS.