How early is too early for an EMG?

Post your questions about BFS here

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

How early is too early for an EMG?

Postby Arron on September 14th, 2002, 11:05 am

I see this question all of the time by people that started twitching and then went to their doctor to get checked-out, only to have a clean EMG yet still continue to wonder..." what if my symptoms were too early and the EMG didn't pick-up on early onset ALS?" Well, here's my point of view on it, for what it's worth. Keep in mind, I'm not a doctor but I am pretty "up" on all of this stuff and I think I have a pretty good grasp on it all.

Just like HIV, the Flu, a cold or anything that you catch or "aquire", there is always an early stage (or incubation period) at which point, no tests will pick-up on it BUT there are no symptoms yet either. That was the big delima with HIV for over a decade. Well, ALS or any NMD or anything for that matter also has it's early stages where even an EMG or blood test can't pick it up BUT, let's put this into perspective, (so don't go getting all scared yet, there's no reason to).

If you consider what ALS is (disconnecting nerve circuits between the brain and the muscles which causes total loss of muscle control once they have severed their communication pathways), SO, as the muscles become disconnected, they start to twitch and the twitching is usually very fine. Being that the nerve endings are disconnecting, you usually don't even feel these tiny twitches because there's no nerve pathway to send the "feelings" to the brain. Are you following me here?