constant tiny twitch in upper arm

Post your questions about BFS here

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

constant tiny twitch in upper arm

Postby matthew dolan on October 7th, 2013, 7:40 pm

Hey all,

I'm new to all of this. I have been having a constant twitch in my right upper arm. The twitch itself is really hard to see but is noticeably when looking in the right lighting. This twitch has been going on for 2 months. While this twitch is continuously going on I also get twitches throughout the rest of my body. My right arm feels fatigued, hands seem stiff and achy.

I have been doing a lot of reading, and by the sounds of it that was a bad move. Read about ALS well that one took the cake, seems like anything would be better than that. I have an appointment with a neurologist in a month, seems so far away.

I guess with that being said my question is does this.sound like BFS or something else.

Tanks,

Matt
matthew dolan

Re: constant tiny twitch in upper arm

Postby bobajojo on October 7th, 2013, 10:27 pm

Matt,

Without weakness, you'll find that neurologists just aren't concerned. I mean the kind of weakness where you can't do normal things. So without weakness, it is extremely unlikely to be anything serious. You ask if a twitch for 2 months is common? Absolutely. -Matt
Last edited by bobajojo on October 8th, 2013, 7:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Over 10 billion twitches since May 2011.
bobajojo
Saint
Saint

Postby RGB on October 8th, 2013, 5:29 am

There probably isn't a lot of useful information to be gained from the nature/duration of the twitches, especially from non-experts like us The much more important fact to remember is that ALS is very very rare and ALS that presents with twitches is many times rarer than even that. Benign twitches are however relatively common so the probability that you have anything sinister is extremely low.

Also, words like "stiff" and "achy" are in no way associated with the kind of weakness that ALS causes.