Leading towards MND

BFS Online Support Group

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

Leading towards MND

Postby TDenver on March 21st, 2014, 1:39 pm

Hi All. I hate to be the person here who ads to anxiety but hopefully others can relate/have similar outcomes. I've been twitching for about 3 months. No muscle loss but my speech has been a bit slurred and I've been super exhausted. I had an EMG in Jan that came back normal. Since I've had every test my GP can think of with no real results. Yesterday he ordered an MRI and it came back suggestive of ALS. I went to the nuero today for another EMG and it seems to indicate some kind of MND. He didn't diagnose ALS yet but wants to do more testing. He ordered about 10 different blood tests and said it could be a different MND or a virus. I fear the worse because he said its going down the ALS path but my symptoms are a-symptomatic. I'm young, in great shape, eat healthy and still able to do sports. My fasciculation's are bad but other than that, the brain fog, and the fatigue I appear to be normal. I always thought the slurring was due to tired, I seem fine when I read my kids books at night, but i really struggle through meetings at work. Anyone thoughts here?
TDenver

Re: Leading towards MND

Postby bobajojo on March 21st, 2014, 2:05 pm

I don't think anyone here can do better than your neurologist. But I will say that as far as I know, an MRI can not be suggestive of ALS. Its my understanding that an MRI is used to rule out other causes of symptoms but the EMG would be the test to point towards MND, not an MRI. That's my understanding.

-Matt
Over 10 billion twitches since May 2011.
bobajojo
Saint
Saint

Postby Yuliasir on March 21st, 2014, 2:07 pm

TDenver,
it is sad to hear that doctors assume you may have ALS or other MND.
but still, your situation is clearly different from the vast majority of people here becasue most of them have clean MRI/EMG.