Scared!!!!

BFS Online Support Group

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

Scared!!!!

Postby Hot Rod on April 11th, 2004, 1:59 am

Hi!
This is my first time posting but I really could need some support now! I am 36 years old and my twitching began on the 4:th of january in my left eyelid. I know eyelid twithces are usually benign so I ignored it, but i was more or less constant the following weeks, I'd guess 6-8 hours of my time awake.
On the 12:th of february one of Swedens most famous TV personalities went out to the public and told that she had ALS. One of the symptoms she mentioned was the twitching. Voila! Two days later I first had numbness and tingling in my left side followed by full body fasciculations overnight! I am normally very rational so I did some strength testing and everything was normal. The twitching didn't go away so I did the next bad thing: I searched the Internet.... Just at Swedish web pages at first and on those said NOTHING about benign fasciculations. From that moment my life has been a nightmare, even though I was very relieved when I found this forum. Last week I called my doctor for the first time to get some blood and urine samples but she wasn't able to see me until on tuesday due to easter.

I have almost all the symtoms you describe and it is constantly changing.
In the beginning i had them mostly in my left foot and calve but all over my body. Now I have them mostly in my toes with occational twitches almost everywhere.

So whats the problem you might think? This sounds just your storys but the thing is my lower eyelid is swollen it has stopped twithching... Has the muscle finally died?
To be rational: No, I can still move the lower eyelid muscle but it is hard to know if I have lost any strength or if just one of the muscle has died.

I have the same maximum strength but my left calf gets tired faster.
Hot Rod
Interested
Interested

Postby jcavan4125 on April 11th, 2004, 9:58 am

Hi Hot Rod,