A Quick Stop In to Say Hi!!

BFS Online Support Group

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

A Quick Stop In to Say Hi!!

Postby puggriffey on March 3rd, 2009, 1:35 am

Hey all-

I returned this evening to see the old place and drop an update your way. I am nearing my five year anniversary with these symptoms, and I wanted to drop in to report on things. I've been away for almost two years now.

Life is very, very good. I remember always wondering if "old timers" that came back and said similar things were sincere, or were just sugar coating things for our benefit. I can assure you that is an accurate report. I feel as good as I ever have, and am as physically fit and healthy (if not more so) than the day before I first googled twitching and sent my life into a temporary hell. I am a veteran of 7 (yes, 7!) EMG's, a full work up through Mayo in MN, and numerous Neuro, Endo and other "-Do" visits over three + years of constant worry and self examination. It was hell - I know you know the drill.

My update in a nutshell:

- Most days, twitch "free". I'm sure I twitch, and occasionally catch a small one consciously, but I believe I now twitch on these days as any other person does, myself included before the "fall"...

- I go through several periods where twitches in more numbers return. These are usally clusters of days ranging from 3 - 10 in length, and are clearly more "twitchy" than others.

- I have definitely narrowed down the "triggers" for these heightened periods:

- Trigger 1 (most often): they follow a period where I get way overtired, and don't get enough sleep. A series of long shifts with late nights for work, for example, especially if I have a pressing deadline (stress). But it doesn't always have to be stressful. I did two successive nights of neighborhood watch last month, for example, with little sleep both nights, and the next week was "twitchy".