Just joined and fretting

BFS Online Support Group

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

Just joined and fretting

Postby kazar on November 12th, 2003, 6:31 pm

I've been visiting this site as a guest for five months and it has been a great source of comfort and information. I have been twitching in both calves 24/7 since April, with episodes of twitching in other areas that has varied from a few hours to week or so (back, face, tongue etc.,). It all seems to have settled down now but the legs are non stop. I have been to a neuro who did the basic reflex/ strength stuff. He noted that "I have no reflexes", which he didn't seem unduly worried about. I had blood tests which are apparently ok. My symptoms didn't seem to warrant an EMG or MRI, which I took some comfort from at the time I suppose. My concern now is that I lost a lot of weight due to the stress of it all, but I don't seem able to put it back on. I have no weakness, although my thighs ache a lot. I am convinced that I have lost muscle in my thighs (which wouldn't tally with the calves twitching I suppose). Also, I have noticed that my arches have dropped (last month). This on it's own is nothing to worry about, but I'm making (hypochondriac?) connections. I can fluctuate from thinking the worst to hoping for the best in a nano second. It's doing me in!!
kazar

Postby Greata on November 12th, 2003, 7:32 pm

Unless the EMG is exceptionally expensive, I would push for it. Although I have occasional freak outs, when I remember my EMG results, it gives me a sense of security. The calmer I am the less I twitch.
Greata
Greata

Postby Craig on November 12th, 2003, 7:39 pm

Kazar,

I can sympathize with just about everything you're going through...having zero reflexes, the aches in the thighs that never seem to go away, twitching everywhere including the tongue, the weight loss (your weight will come back once you are able to control the stress), etc...