Newbie here: 11 months and counting!

General Topics

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

Newbie here: 11 months and counting!

Postby Eillark on November 5th, 2013, 3:38 pm

Hi, I'm new. Trying to figure out if this is where I "belong". Seems the closest match, anyway!

I have no idea if this is connected or coincidence, but I figure its worth mentioning. Around last fall I noticed (I'm sure it started in the summer, but fall is when my unobservant self *noticed*) a patch of missing hair, about silver dollar sized. Upon exploration, I discovered a few more, mostly smaller, patches. In early December, I went to a naturopath and had some blood work done. Thyroid plus a lot of other stuff I can't remember :P Between that appt and the follow up, the left corner of my lower lip started twitching. At the follow up appt, everything looked normal in my blood work, and I mentioned the twitching. She suggested magnesium. So I took lots of that, and went to the chiro (I go somewhat regularly) and no change.

Fast forward almost a year! Still twitching. There have been 2-3 times over the last year that I've gone a couple days without noticing a twitch, but then it starts right back up. The intensity comes and goes as well. Some days it will come and go throughout the day, but throughout the day probably less than half the day is spent twitching. Other times it is constant, all day long every day! Anyway, I come to the "conclusion" of BFS more as a process of elimination. No other possible explanations fit really well. But then I wonder if I even really fit the typical BFS. I only twitch in the one spot, no numbness, no headaches, no fatigue (well, aside from what would be expected of a mom with 3 young kids!) no itching, no pins & needles.