Catastrophe Theory: Bridges and BFS

General Topics

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

Catastrophe Theory: Bridges and BFS

Postby seventhcandle on July 21st, 2013, 3:10 am

As several of you may know, I am a mathematician by training and you may be wondering wtf does this have to do with BFS? Well, I was very intrigued by BFSBurger's post about HPA axis dysfunction and after thinking some more about how "suddenly" severe twitching comes on and often persists unmitigated for years and years, even for life, I think I can at the very least offer up a simple mathematical theory that at the very least may explain what's going on neuronally and why the term "neuronal hyperexcitability" (I think a term Matt's neurologist coined) may be the most appropriate name for what's going on.

It is a medically proven fact that it is physiologically more difficult for muscles to relax than to contract. It actually takes MORE energy and spinal coordination for muscles to stay in a relaxed state than it does for them to be in movement or in contraction. As counterintuitive as this may seem, it is true for all vertebrate animals and part of the great mystery of the spinal cord and its related functions. If you don't believe me, look it up.

So what does math have to do with it?

There is a branch of mathematics that deals with real-life situations such as disease outbreak, population growth & decay, and mechanics called "nonlinear dynamics" or "dynamical systems." If you have an engineering background (which oddly enough seems to run in the BFS family), you may be familiar with this field of math. If not and you hate math, don't stop reading yet...this is going to be very non-technical.

So what is a catastrophe mathematically speaking?

Well in math, we say that a dynamical system can be in one of three states: stable, semi-stable, and unstable. As to which state a system is in, it really depends on a number of factors, including initial conditions, perturbating factors, etc etc.