Recurrence of symptoms

General Topics

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

Recurrence of symptoms

Postby Enthalp on May 31st, 2013, 5:14 pm

Im a newbie here, but have found comfort reading various stories that people have posted. My ordeal dates back to last January when I began experiencing an unexplained muscle twitch in my pectoral muscle. That particular twitch lasted less than a day, but after googling twitching, a full blown attack of twitches began in lower extremities especially arch of left foot and calves of both legs. For whatever reason, I became fixated on the arch of the foot twitching even though I had sporadic twitching elsewhere, even in forearms and thumb. I would get a very bad feeling every time I saw the twitch in the arch of the foot thinking it was something sinister. Now that I am educated about ALS, I realize ALS just doesnt start that way (pectoral to feet) but at the time ALS anxiety began to soar to new heights. I spent the next 2 months doing strength testing, hopping on 1 leg, standing on toes, walking up stairs, push ups etc. Long story short, I made appointments with neurologist in April 2012 who did a NCS and EMG and a strength test - all tests came back clean. I was diagnosed with fasciulations and he told me to "ignore them". Only thing off was low B-12 which I began to supplement. My symptoms actually subsided for the next 12 months. I lost my fear of ALS and functioned rather well. I didnt give that disease any thought. Well, Just a few weeks ago symptoms have returned. My wife says that I probably have been twitching all the while and I was just not focussed on them. I am not sure if the twitching just started again or maybe it never went away like she said. My attention is turned inward and introspective again even when I am in conversation with someone I notice I am thinking about my twitching. Of course they dont know it but in my mind I am panicing. I still have no appreciable weakness, though my legs feel rubbery at times.