Having a major panic

General Topics

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

Having a major panic

Postby kazar on December 15th, 2003, 12:02 pm

I have posted a few times before and having been doing really well in trying to believe that I have bfs. I am now panicking big time. I have been twitching in my calves non stop for 9 months and I have lost a lot of weight steadily over this time. Some of this can be explained by the stress and not eating for periods when the fear has really taken hold, but I have really been trying to put it back on for a couple of months and nothing has happened. I am reverting back to obsessive behaviour like spending hours in front of a mirror, and trying on different clothes to see them hanging off me. I have even been tormenting myself by visiting MND sites, and I swore I would never do that again. Unsurprisingly I have been reading "horror stories" and my latest paranoia is some research that has linked a higher risk of deveoping ALS with having been struck by lightning or having had a nasty electric shock (I did 2 years ago). I know this might sound crazy, but I am petrified. My neurologist did basic clinical and blood tests and seems satisfied. I thought I was, but I am going out of my mind with worry.
kazar

Postby sarahtonin on December 15th, 2003, 12:17 pm

Karen

Don't panic!!

As you've acknowledged, weight loss is related to stress and even though you think you're not your post shows that you are still in a state of high anxiety so no wonder you can't put the weight on. It took me about 2 months to start putting weight on again and now it's coming with a vengeance :roll:

I don't think you can put much relevance on the research you read - anyone can find a correlation with anything if they try hard enough. You are pretty unlikely to get struck by lightning, but much less likely to contract MND so to have both you'd have to be VERY UNLUCKY :)

Please try not to worry

Sarah
sarahtonin

Postby kazar on December 15th, 2003, 2:00 pm