This is a Pain in the Neck!

Information about how to manage or reduce the severity of BFS symptoms

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

This is a Pain in the Neck!

Postby puggriffey on September 24th, 2004, 8:41 am

Hey all-

My latest twist with this is some persistent and really uncomfortable stiffness and cramping in my neck and throat area. Specifically, my SCM's (sternoclemastoids - which run from the base of the chin down the side of the neck to the shoulder blade - sort of where I'd imagine my aorta runs, but I'm no doctor!!) has been in and out of spasm for the past several days, and it feels like my muscles running into the back of my head are cramping sometimes as well (head doesn't want to move...)

All of this results in soreness in my neck, soreness when speaking for extended periods of time, and general crampiness, especially after sitting at my desk on the computer for extended periods of time. For some background, I have been dx'd with DDD in the C5-C6 discs and a mild herniation (with no nerve or spinal cord impingement per my MRI of three weeks ago) of the C6-C7. I get these symptoms the worst after sitting and staring at the computer, and it seems to be OK when I stand and even better when I'm walking/moving around.

I don't seem to have "difficulty swallowing" per se, but it does make it more difficult when the muscles in the neck are crampy, and sometimes the muscles in my face/jaw just plain get TIRED when chewing for long periods at a time (I had a pork chop the other night and thought my face was gonna freeze up right there...knew I hsould've been a vegetarian!)