Tai Chi

Information about how to manage or reduce the severity of BFS symptoms

Moderators: JohnV, Arron, garym

Tai Chi

Postby Amacra on May 30th, 2011, 12:01 pm

Has anyone ever tried Tai Chi? If you're not familiar, google it. I would describe it as martial arts and meditation in motion. I recently started practicing as my very good friend owns a studio. She's been practicing for more than 20 years and says it saved her life from anxiety. I've noticed that I have a significant reduction in my symptoms when I practice.
Amacra

Re: Tai Chi

Postby glitterwater on May 30th, 2011, 4:09 pm

I've tried it along with a similar practice called Qi Gong. I do notice a decrease in my symptoms when doing the exercises. Wish it would continue when I'm done!
"O Lord my God, I cried to you for help, and you have healed me." Psalms 30:2
glitterwater
Selfless giver of time
Selfless giver of time

Postby mommylondon on May 30th, 2011, 7:24 pm

Sounds good to me, I shall be looking into this one :D
Quote: To mend the hearts of everyone that feels alone.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rd6BlNKCkRs
mommylondon
Saint
Saint

Postby Amacra on May 30th, 2011, 8:01 pm

I go to the studio on Wednesday nights, but I've been practicing on my own whenever I start to feel anxious. I'm still learning the sequence, so I'm not entirely able to meditate yet, but they say that comes with time. If nothing else, it's a nice, gentle workout!
Amacra

Postby mommylondon on May 30th, 2011, 8:11 pm

Yeah thats what I was thinking also. I'll try anything to keep the anxiety from coming back to the level it was at. That was so miserable :(
Quote: To mend the hearts of everyone that feels alone.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rd6BlNKCkRs
mommylondon
Saint
Saint

Postby ImOK on June 1st, 2011, 5:15 pm